ABOUT US
ABOUT US

The University of Southern California is home to a dynamic research and organizational improvement center that works with professionals in educational institutions, corporations, and other contexts. We help our partners strategically develop and achieve equity goals, better understand and correct climate problems, avoid and recover from racial crises, and cultivate sustainable cultures of inclusion and respect. Evidence, as well as scalable and adaptable models of success, inform our rigorous approach.

We acknowledge that our center is on the traditional land of the Tongva People. We also recognize the Chumash, Tataviam, Serrano, Cahuilla, Juaneno, and Luiseno People for the land that USC occupies around Southern California. We pay respects to their past and present.

MISSION

Our mission is to illuminate, disrupt, and dismantle racism in all its forms. We do this through rigorous interdisciplinary research, high-quality professional learning experiences, the production and wide dissemination of useful tools, trustworthy consultations and strategy advising, and substantive partnerships. While race and ethnicity are at the epicenter of our work, we also value their intersectionality with other identities, and therefore aim to advance equity for all persons experiencing marginalization.

HISTORY

Professor Shaun R. Harper founded the Center for the Study of Race and Equity in Education in 2011 at the University of Pennsylvania, which was its home for six years. The Center was relocated and renamed the USC Race and Equity Center when Dr. Harper joined the University of Southern California Rossier School of Education and Marshall School of Business faculties in 2017.

Founded in 1999 by USC Professor Estela Mara Bensimon, the Center for Urban Education (CUE) has worked to bring equity-mindedness to institutions of higher education through socially-conscious research, tools, and learning institutes. CUE empowers practitioners to act as agents of change, enabling them to be critically race conscious as they respond to changing demographics in our educational systems. Furthermore, CUE developed the framework for equity-minded practice and policy that has been adopted by foundations, professional associations, and institutions of higher education nationally. CUE has helped hundreds of practitioners and institutions become equity-minded by teaching them to effectively question their own assumptions, recognize racial stereotypes that harm student success, and continually reassess their practices to create change. CUE and the USC Race and Equity Center merged on July 1, 2020.

FACULTY AFFILIATES

The USC Race and Equity Center’s strength largely resides in our interdisciplinary network of faculty affiliates. We unite more than 100 professors across academic schools at USC who are experts on race and racism, people of color, immigration, and other important dimensions of equity. These scholars work together on research, as well as on the development of useful tools and resources.

CENTER STAFF

Jade Agua

Chief Learning Officer


jagua@rossier.usc.edu

James Bridgeforth

Research Associate




Kendrick B. Davis

Chief Research
Officer
Associate Professor
of Research

kdavis01@usc.edu

Debbie Hanson

Associate Director




debbiepe@rossier.usc.edu

Ya-Chi Hung

Associate Director



yachihun@usc.edu

Adrienne King

Executive Assistant
to Drs. Harper and Jones



kingadri@usc.edu

Rodolfo Andy Nuñez

Senior Research Analyst




ranunez@usc.edu

Dr. Erica Silva

Associate Director




esilva@rossier.usc.edu

Sarah Toutant

Research Associate




toutant@usc.edu

Lara Aposhian


Chief Marketing Officer



laposhia@rossier.usc.edu

Megan Chase

Ph.D., Associate Director




megan.chase@rossier.usc.edu

Jenise Evans


Surveys Data
Collection Manager


jenise@usc.edu

Shaun R. Harper, PHD

Founder &
Executive Director
Provost Professor
of Education and Business
Clifford and Betty Allen
Chair in Urban Leadership

sharper@usc.edu

Dr. Brandi Jones

Chief of Operating Officer
and Chief of Staff
Professor of Research


brandijo@usc.edu

Kaitlyn Lange

Surveys Data
Collection Coordinator



langek@rossier.usc.edu

Jaymon Ortega

Research Associate



+1 (213) 740-0385
jortega@usc.edu

Isaiah Simmons

Research Associate




isaiahsi@usc.edu

Adrian Trinidad

Research Associate




altrinid@usc.edu

Yvette Barnett

Finance Manager




ybarnett@rossier.usc.edu

Wilmon A. Christian III

Director
of Workplace Equity


wilmonac@usc.edu

Jordan Greer

Associate Director




jordang@rossier.usc.edu

Esmeralda Hernandez-Hamed

Associate Director




esmeralda.hh@rossier.usc.edu

Brandi Junious

Director of Corporate
Partnerships



junious@usc.edu

Richard Nassar

Chief Strategy Officer




RNassar@usc.edu

John Pascarella, Ph.D.

Chief Academic Officer
Professor of
Clinical Education


pascarel@usc.edu

Dr. Minh Tran

Director of
Racial Equity
Research Partnerships


TBD